February Reads

I’ve had a lot of requests from Goodreads friends to keep a blog documenting my 1,000 book challenge, so I’ve deciding to post more on here about the books I’m reading, bought and want to buy. I will blog about random things that occur to me and of the places that I visit.

February saw me reading two books; The Five People You Meet in Heaven by Mitch Albom and The Colour Purple by Alice Walker both of which I loved.

20. The Five People You Meet in Heaven:

I read this book after seeing a review of it by a friend on Goodreads, and I downloaded it onto my kindle almost immediately. I will admit, after all the hype of the book, I was a little disappointed in the story as I didn’t think that Mitch Albom developed any of the characters to enough depth. However, I still loved the book. It’s incredibly easy to read and I found myself wanting to pick it up again almost immediately after putting it down. I will admit, I would buy another Mitch Albom book based on this being my first read.

21. The Color Purple:

I’ve had this book on my bookshelf for a good long while and I finally decided to pick it up and give it a read. It’s one of the best books I have ever read! I love that it is written as Celie would speak and I love that it addresses controversial issues (such as racism, homosexuality and abuse). It’s a book that over the years, I will definitely pick up time and time again and it will be a book that I will recommend to all my friends and family!

I’ve also completed my first March read which is Afterwards by Rosamund Lupton, however, I think I will do a monthly review of the books that I’ve read, so that will come up in the March reviews.

Leave a Reply

