My Favourite Books

I read alot, and a lot of my friends ask me for book recommendations and more annoyingly, what my favourite book is. I was asked this recently (within the past two weeks) and as I usually tell everyone, I don’t have a favourite book. I read a variety of different genres and I don’t really think books can be compared against each other, but I do have favourites that I recommend to everyone who asks me. And here’s my list

1. A Brave New World – Aldous Huxley

I loved this book and it’s my top recommendation to anyone and everyone. I will admit, the sciencey beginning of the book can be hard to get through, but the story is so worth it. It’s a great read and it’s one of the first books that I ever cried over. I’ve not read it in a while, but it’s on my list of things to do this summer. 

2. The Help – Kathryn Stockett

This was a book recommendation from my sister, which I now tell everyone to read. I read it prior to all of the movie hype and I can safely call this one of my favourite books to date. I love the storyline, and I’ve always been a little bit too interested in the suppression of the black population in the past. It’s a wonderfully written book, it will have you laughing, crying and leave you feeling lost when you finish it….but isn’t that a sign of a great book?

3. The Storyteller – Jodi Picoult

My mum introduced me to Jodi Picoult when I was in my mid teens and I’ve never turned my back on her. Her lasted novel is by far her best piece of writing! This story is centred around the Holocaust, looking back at the monstrosities that occured in Germany, however it’s set in modern times. As always with Jodi’s writing, you will not see the end coming as the book is filled with her usual twists and turns. I can’t praise this book enough!

4. The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society – Mary Ann Shaffer

This wonderful book was a recommendation from Morag and I am so glad that she told me to read it. It’s a book that I’ve never heard people talking about which I think is a shame. It’s set in Guernsey during the war and it’s about an author who has just recently moved there and is invited along to a society meeting. It’s been far too long since I last read this book and it shall be cracked open again soon!

5. A Short History of Nearly Everything – Bill Bryson

I read this last year after it sitting on my bookshelf for far too long. It’s a  wonderfully easy way to discover things about science and the world that you didn’t know or have forgotten over the years. It taught me more than my 5 years of sciences in High School taught me. Bryson has a way of writing things simply without making you feel stupid, but without making the science too hard to understand. It’s a book you can reread many times and come away with a different fact each time. 

 

I am always looking for book recommendations so feel free to tell me the books you love and if you have a favourite, what it is! 

Leave a Reply

