My March Reads

March has been the last month I’ve been able to spend a fair majority of my nights reading before I head into exam time and my coursework period of uni. So my reading will slow down from now until the end of May. Having said that, I’m currently starting April with 3 books on the go (does The Complete Grimm Fairytales count as a single book?) so it doesn’t appear to be slowing any!

Here were my March 2014 reads:

22. Afterwards – Rosamund Lupton

Having had Sister recommended to me by my mother to read, I was eager to read this book. I would argue that this is easily better than Sister, and for me, that’s something special. About a mother and a daughter, caught in the inbetween life and death, this book will have you laughing out loud and crying too. It’s a truly wonderful read by a great author and I would highly recommend it to anyone and everyone. I am a huge fan of Rosamund Lupton, she’s cemented my reading love with her second novel and I cannot wait for her third!

23. The Shock of The Fall – Nathan Filer

I had heard wonderful things about this book, and whilst I enjoyed it, the book did not live up to the hype that I’d heard about it. I love that this book highlights mental illness and paints it in a light that many will not have considered before. It helps to de-stigmatise those with Schizophrenia as the main character takes you through his world and his entire life whilst he’s homed in a hospital. It’s a wonderfully insightful book with a gripping storyline, it just didn’t live up to my expectations unfortunately.

24. The Time of My Life – Cecelia Ahern

I love a good piece of chick lit from time to time, and every time I do, I turn to Cecelia Ahern. The Time of My Life is about a woman, stuck in a rut in her life and unhappy, who is confronted by her Life in order to change her habits and to help her gain back her happiness. Lying to everyone, her Life makes her confront the truth and as a result, her world changes rapidly. This book will have you laughing and will leave you thinking about the direction your life is heading in and where you want to take it to.

25. Fangirl – Rainbow Rowell

This book is a book I read for an online book club. I would have thought it would be my cup of tea, however, I was left feeling like I’d wasted my time. I fell in love with the character of Levi, which is a sign of good writing, however, the main character is not lovable in my opinion. I’m putting it down to the fact that fanfiction (which is the main subject of the book) goes right over my head, and as such the book did not appeal to me. Everyone is entitled to their opinion and if there’s not any books that you don’t like, you wouldn’t know what books you love. Always a positive to an unappealing book 

Leave a Reply

