My May Reads

May has been an excellent reading month for me, especially as I’ve had coursework to hand in for uni and I’ve got an exam coming up. I’m proud of myself this month as I am a slow reader, however I’ve managed to read 5 books this month!

1. Panic – Lauren Oliver 

I enjoyed this book but I was left missing something at the end.Whilst the storyline is unrealistic, the book is very easy to read and well written. It centres around Heather and Dodge as they compete to win the cash prise in the game Panic, where the senior students at the local high school compete in death defying challenges to win. For me, this book would have been better centred in a dystopian world as it would be more believable and the characters would have a better incentive to compete. This book was an anti-climax for me in the end. 4 out of 5 stars.

2. Divergent – Veronica Roth

Whilst I’d heard about this book, I was not inclined to read it straight away. However, I eventually decided to pick up the book and dive in. I enjoyed it, however, for me, it’s not lived up to the hype and I won’t be going to see the film anytime soon. The character of Four was the highlight of the book for me as I was not overly attached to the character of Tris. The end of the book felt rushed to me, like the author got too caught up in everything that was happening and forgot about the characters. Overall it was a good book, 4 out of 5 stars.

3. One Breath Away – Heather Gudenkauf

This was my favourite read of the month. I love Heather Gudenkauf’s writing and I think everyone should give this book a read. Centred around a school shooting situation, the storyline is told in multiple perspectives which gives the situation a unique perspective and develops the plot excellently. This book is utterly un-putdownable and I can see myself going back and reading it again and again. 5 out of 5 stars.

4. Where There’s Smoke – Jodi Picoult

A small chapter long teaser of Jodi Picoult’s book Leaving Time left me wanting the book to be released asap, however we have to wait until October for it to be released. The story follows Psychic Serenity as she attempts to help a widow and ends up being hauntened by her poltergeist war hero husband who’s death may not have been what it seems. Surrounded by the angry ghost, she must continue to help others as she isolates herself from the spirit world due to the spirit attached to her. Despite being sceptical about the topic, 5 out of 5 stars. 

5. Pride Over Pity – Kailyn Lowry

I was disappointed with this book. I am a huge fan of Teen Mom 2 and as Kailyn Lowry is my favourite out of the bunch. For me, the problem lies with the fact that Kail is not a writer and it shows throughout the book. She jumps from topic to topic; one minute she’s dating her now husband and the next she’s talking about her same sex relationships. She jumps from religion to tattoos to her wedding and for me, it would make more sense as a memoir to go in chronological order. I appreciate how far she’s come and all the struggle she’s been through but the book could have been a lot better. 3 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

