My Summer Must Reads

I have a three month stretch of summer ahead of me and whilst I will be working full time for at least the next month, I intend to read a lot of books this summer. I’ve been in a bit of a weird book mood at the moment and I don’t know if this is a good thing or not. I’ve resorted back to my Young Adult phase which I’d been out of for a couple of years, but I am loving diving back into the YA world, so if you’ve got any recommendations, send them my way.

I’ve picked out 10 books that I aim to read over the summer, and I shall keep you updated on my progress as I go (I might start doing individual book reviews as well). So here is my summer TBR list:

1. A Brave New World – Aldous Huxley

This is literally my all time favourite book and I’ve not read it in a couple of years (it’s not on my Goodreads page) so I’m really excited to reread this again for the bazillionth time!

2. Paper Towns – John Green

I know, I know, how can I not have read this? It’s been on my to read list for aaaaages and I think this summer I will finally get round to it on the good ol’ kindle. I love John Green’s writing, it’s perfection.

3. Before I Go To Sleep – S.J. Watson

Again, a book that I’ve had on my shelves for ages and haven’t gotten around to reading so I shall be delving into this at some point over the upcoming months. None of my friends have read this but it sounds like my cup of tea so I thought I’d take the plunge.

4. Insurgent – Veronica Roth

I was slow in the uptake of this series. After Twilight and The Hunger Games I stopped reading Young Adult series, but as I said on the intro, I’ve been delving back into the genre and I enjoyed Divergent so I must continue on!

5. The Death Cure – James Dashner

I am not a huge fan of the Maze Runner series but I feel that as I invested time into the first two, I should finish the trilogy. So this is gonna happen over summer.

6. For Crying Out Loud – Jeremy Clarkson

I’m a huge Clarkson fan, judge me all you want. His weekly newspaper articles are funny and the books are so easy to read and you can pick them up read two pages and put them back down again. Brilliantly funny as well!

7. Jurassic Park – Michael Crichton

I stole this book off my Dad last year and I’ve still not gotten round to reading it. I’ve never seen the Jurassic Park films and I really want to read the book before I see them. (Jenny will kill me if she see’s this)

8. Still Alice – Lisa Genova

This was a Goodreads recommendation and it sounds brilliant! I’m intrigued to see what it turns out to be like and I’m really keen for trying a book a little different to what I normally read.

9. The Uglies – Scott Westerfield

Another Young Adult book that I’ve heard nothing but good things about but have never gotten around to reading. YA seems to be all I’ve got to read at the moment

10. The Complete Fairytales – The Brothers Grimm

I’ve had this on the go for a while, as I like to be able to read a story before heading to bed with my book and I think I should aim to have it read by the end of my summer hols or I will be reading it for years to come!

I am currently on a mission to reduce the number of books I have to read so I am on somewhat of a book buying ban. My goal which I set for myself is to read two books before I buy a book and it’s already proving to be a challenge! However, I shall carry on as it hopefully means that when I reach an agreeably amount of books, I can go on a book shopping spree!

Also debating about starting a book tube channel but I’ve never done anything like that before and I am not sure where on earth to start! Maybe that should be my challenge for the end of the summer!

One thought on “My Summer Must Reads

  1. Sam says:

    I’m going through ‘Brave New World’ right now and it’s really interesting. I understand why it’s one of your favorites.
    ‘Insurgent’ was my favorite of the trilogy! I hope you enjoy it.
    I’m reading ‘The Maze Runner’ now and I have the other books in the house so I’m hoping to plow through those in quick succession. Glad to know they’re good!
    I’ve thought about Booktube, too, but know nothing about video editing. If you find a good resource, please share. 🙂
    Happy Reading!

    Like

Leave a Reply

