June Book Wrap Up!

June has been a really busy month for me, however, I’ve managed to maintain my average reading pace which has been good. I’m only one book away from completing my Goodreads Yearly book challenge (which I’d set at 20 books) so I shall have to reconsider that and raise it soon.

1,000 Book Challenge – June Update

32. Catch 22 – Joseph Heller

On Goodreads, I only gave this 3 stars and I stand by this rating. It took me forever to get into Catch 22 and there were a couple of times where I prioritised another book over this. Overall, I don’t have anything to complain about concerning the storyline, but I wasn’t overly attached to Yossarian or any of the other characters. The manner in which the story was written left me confused as it jumped between events and from character to character, which is one of the reasons it took me so long to read.

33. Shatter Me – Tahereh Mafi

I have searched high and low for this book in the United Kingdom and I finally found copies of the whole series and I am so glad that I finally got it. Shatter Me is an excellent start to what I presume will be an excellent series. The series follows Juliette, who has been imprisoned due to her killer touch and is released into the hands of dictator Warner, who wants to use Juliette as an instrument of torture against the general public. It’s a great book and I cannot wait to continue on reading the rest of the series, it’s on my summer reading bucketlist. 5 out of 5 stars.

34. For Crying Out Loud – Jeremy Clarkson

I loved the first two books in this series, however, this book was not on par with the first two. The series are Clarkson’s weekly columns and whilst they are normally funny and relevant even years after they were written, his writing in this book appears to be too thought out and Clarkson appears to be trying too hard with his subjects. 3 out of 5 stars.

35. Destroy Me – Tahereh Mafi

This is a short side novella that accompanies the Shatter Me series. It follows Warner in the short time period between the first and second books in the series and although it’s not as good as the first book, it’s a wonderful insight into the mind of the villain of the series. It paints Warner in a good light, as misunderstood and caught up in his father’s expectations and rule. 4 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

