The Little Old Lady Who Broke All the Rules – Catharina Ingelman-Sundberg

I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars on Goodreads, however, in reality it was probably more of a 3.5 out 5 kind of book. 

The Little Old Lady Who Broke All The Rules is about a group of five pensioners who are so desperate to get out of their dull and dusty retirement home that they are willing to commit crime and spend time in jail. The story follows Martha and her friends as they plan and carry out a painting “kidnapping” from the National Gallery and all the events that follow suit. However, things do not go to plan for them, losing half of the ransom money and the paintings during their escapades.

I liked this book but I didn’t love it. By about 3/4 of the way through, I was getting bored and wanted to move on to another book, but I stuck with it. The characters were well written and whilst I do believe that the elderly are more capable than we give them credit for, I don’t believe that the storyline was plausible. However, it was a fun light read and I did end up enjoying the book as a whole.

Leave a Reply

