The Silver Linings Playbook – Matthew Quick

I am shocked by how few people I know have read this amazing book! Although, I admit, I only decided to pick it up after watching the movie adaptation. And the only reason I wanted to watch it is because it has Bradley Cooper as Pat.

The Silver Linings Playbook is one of the best books I’ve picked up in a while and I admire it even more for one reason. It destigmatises mental illness, and I think this is brilliant.

The novel follows Pat upon release from a neural hospital as he tries his hardest to reconnect with his family and friends whilst trying to end “apart time” with his wife. You experience his struggles with his illness and with his father and follow his love for American Football and his friendship with Tiffany.

It’s a truly beautiful novel and one I can see myself picking up time and time again. The Silver Linings Playbook is one of the most under rated books I’ve ever had the pleasure to read!

One thought on “The Silver Linings Playbook – Matthew Quick

Leave a Reply

