Reader’s Block

Am I the only person who loves to read but gets fed up of reading? I love nothing more than spending the day with a book in my hand and getting lost in the story, but at the same time, I get periods of reader’s block where the thought of picking up a book just doesn’t appeal to me. This happens to me during books also, I’m currently half way through A Game Of Thrones by George R R Martin, and I am loving it. All the action is about to start happening, the tension has been building for chapters, but just looking at the thickness of the book and the remaining portion of pages makes me want to leave the book in it’s place.

Yesterday, instead of soldiering on through with A Game Of Thrones and probably not paying attention to it, I decided to pick up a completely unrelated book that I recently bought from a second hand shop. Between Shades of Grey by Ruta Sepetys. It’s got short chapters, is a young adult book and is about the Soviet Massacres during World War 2 and I am flying through it. However, I know that when I go to bed tonight, I will spend a half hour reading more of A Game of Thrones.

Maybe I’m weird and others don’t feel like this, I don’t know. What I do know is that everyone should read Between Shades of Grey.

Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository

Leave a Reply

