October Wrap Up – 2014

I’d like to take this introduction to say that I’m currently in my fourth and final year of a criminology degree and unfortunately in the mad dash to try and get all my readings, essays, dissertation etc done, reading is currently the last thing I want to do when I crawl into bed at night. Until May 2015, I can’t forsee myself reading a great deal and I am sure it will get worse the closer I get to deadines. However, here’s what I’ve read in October:

1. Unravel Me – Tahereh Mafi

Unravel Me is the second book to the Shatter Me series, a young adult series that focuses on the life of Juliette as she escapes incarceration for killing someone with her touch. As it is the second in the trilogy, I won’t go into details as it will ruin the first book, however, I shall say that it is an incredible book, possible better than the first and I am eager to see where the series is going and what the ending shall be! 4/5 stars.

2. Paper Towns – John Green

I read The Fault in Our Stars last year and have since been catching up on his books, however, after reading Looking For Alaska and now Paper Towns, I am officially stating that I am not a John Green fan. I was not a fan of this book, however, due to John Green’s writing style, I read it relatively quickly. I love his writing style, I unfortunately don’t find his writing all that interesting. 2/5 stars.

3. A Monster Calls – Patrick Ness

This is the first Patrick Ness I’ve had the pleasure to read, and boy was it a good one to start with! A Monster Calls follows 13 year old Connor as his Mum is facing cancer and all the troubles that come with the diagnoses, when a monster awakens Connor during the night. The monster will visit 4 times, the first 3 to tell Connor a story and the 4th time for Connor to tell the monster a story. I wept like a baby, the writing is stunning and the illustrations are incredible. 5/5 stars.

Add or follow me on Goodreads for more reviews.

Leave a Reply

