On Reading Multiple Books

I’ve never been one to read more than one book at one time, until recently. The reason for not reading more than one book is because when I read a book, I want to be so sucked into the story that reading the book and finding out what happens becomes the most important thing in my life. As I said, until recently that is.

About a year ago, I started reading two books at one. One fiction, one non-fiction (A Short History of Nearly Everything to be exact). The reason for this was because I wanted something fun to break up all the information I was reading in Bill Bryson’s wonderful book, but since then things have gone dramatically downhill.

I am currently reading five books. That’s right FIVE books at once. One is short stories to flick through before bed. Another is a novel I wanted to read in relation to a uni essay. One of them in a non-fiction and the other two are just novels (one contemporary, one historical fiction). I don’t know how or when this happened, but it’s become an issue and no matter how much I read I can’t seem to get the number down. I know I will have to restart one of the books or abandon it completely until later on, but I don’t want to.

How do other readers cope with this problem? Or does it not happen to anyone else? Do people enjoy reading multiple books? I’m finding it stressful and shall not start a new book until it’s only the Brother’s Grimm’s Fairytales I am reading!

2 thoughts on “On Reading Multiple Books

  1. Sam says:

    I’m a perpetual multi-reader. My issue is that I have many mediums I read in: print, audio CD, audio file, e-book. So that’s a minimum of four, sometimes three, at a given time (if I listen to the audio file through Aux in my car). It’s easier if you keep them to very different genres. For example, I’m reading a 1880s historical fiction, a 1200s historical fiction, a 1200s time travel (okay, this is a poor example) and a future dystopian. They’re easy to keep separate because they’re so different! I struggled a while back while reading two books set in modern India at the same time.

    Good luck with multi-book. If you can keep them separate, it’s no problem. It keeps you going until one grabs you and won’t let you go. It will happen, look forward to it. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

