Throne of Glass – Sarah J Maas

I bought Throne of Glass on a whim, I admit it. It was onsale on Kindle for 59p and how could I resist a book that cheap? The premise sounded good, so I dived in and I loved it. For multiple reasons, but one main reason stood out: Celaena is a badass assassin who loves clothes and pretty dresses. When do you ever find this in a book? You either get shallow female protagonists who love clothes or you get badass protagonists who don’t care (Katniss Everdeen, naming one). I loved this idea, the girly badass.

Throne of Glass follows Celaena Sardothien as she is released from a death camp in order to compete to become the King’s Champion and ultimately win her freedom. She encounters problems along the way as some her fellow competitors meet their grisly deaths. ¬†Trained and imprisoned as an assassin, Celaena must use her skills to not only win the championship but to avoid whatever is killing the competitors simultaneously.

I will admit, I didn’t care for the romantic element of this book, however the book is a great first instalment for the young adult series and I shall definitely be continuing on with the series later on in the year.

5 out of 5 stars on Goodreads

2015 Challenge: A book by an author under 30

Leave a Reply

