Still Alice – Lisa Genova

I need to take a moment before I plunge into the review for this book. It’s been a week since I finished it and the feelings and emotions that this book evoked are still raw within my psyche. It’s hard to fathom words that are good enough to describe the impact of this book.

I think all you need to know when going into Still Alice is that the main character, Alice, is diagnosed with early on-set Alzheimer’s. The book follows her diagnosis and the aftermath of her life as she goes through her numerous daily struggles. You don’t need to know more than that, this book is the type that you have to discover for yourself.

I will say that this book is extremely emotional. I felt like my heart had been ripped out my chest and stomped on repeatedly at various points of the book. There is no happy ending and that is the case for every Alzheimer’s sufferer in the world. What is so gut-wrenching about Still Alice is that the book relates to everyone on a personal level, as the majority of the population will have experienced a loved one with dementia. It makes you reflect on that person and their life, whilst making you appreciate your own life simultaneously and all that you’ve achieved.

Not a book I would recommend for a holiday, but an unmissable book.

5 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

