I Capture The Castle – Dodie Smith

image

I was recommended I Capture the Castle a number of years ago by my friend Morag and I promised her I would buy it. So I did, and I eventually got around to picking it up about 2 weeks ago. I can’t say I was overly impressed. I love the writing in the book, there is no denying that Dodie Smith has a way with words but there was something lacking in the book overall. I wasn’t so gripped by the storyline that I couldn’t put the book down, nor was picking up the book the highlight of my day.

Overall, I found Rose annoying and Cassandra to be immature. The storyline of Cassandra and Thomas locking their father in a dungeon to force him to write seemed a little far fetched to me. I found myself wanting to yell “USE YOUR WORDS” to Cassandra as she pined over Simon, and I felt sorry for Stephen for the majority of the book. The book is easy to read and as I mentioned before, the way in which Dodie Smith writes makes this book worth reading.

3 out of 5 stars.

Let me know what you think of I Capture the Castle and yell at me if I missed the beauty of the book!

Leave a Reply

