The Quality of Silence – Rosamund Lupton

Rosamund Lupton is definitely up there as one of my favourite authors, so when I was given the opportunity to read her upcoming release for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review, I jumped at the chance.

The Quality of Silence is unlike any other book I’ve ever read. The story centres around a deaf child and her mother as they truck along the ice roads in Alaska as they search for the girls father. I’ve never read a story centring around a deaf character before but I absolutely loved it. It gives such a quieting effect on the story as she explains what it is like to live in a world where everyone talks but you cannot hear.

I was hooked from the beginning but The Quality of Silence is different to Lupton’s normal books in a way I cannot explain. The majority of the “action” within the book, that is the conclusion to the storyline occurs within the last 20% but the first 80% is just as good and as enjoyable. As usual, the element of mystery that is present in all three of Rosamund Lupton’s books will keep you turning the page to the end in order to see if the little girl’s dad survived the fire at his village.

I would highly recommend this to everyone and I would encourage you all to purchase Rosamund Lupton’s previous two novels, Sister and Afterwards, as they are two of my all time favourite books. I’m already excited about her fourth novel if she chooses to keep writing!

4 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

