Queen of Shadows – Sarah J Maas 

Where else can I start than saying that this book did not disappoint? I’ve been waiting patiently for the fourth instalment of the Throne of Glass series for a good few months and I could not wait to get it. I even asked for it as my sole birthday present, that’s how excited I was about its release!

   

For those of you who don’t know, the Throne of Glass series follows a young assassin named Celaena as she becomes the Kings Champion and tries desperately to escape her past. I won’t go into detail because I would absolutely hate to spoil this book series for anyone. I highly, highly recommend this entire book series to all fantasy lovers, no matter your age (I recently got one of my colleagues hooked on the series). 

I will say that although I loved this book, it left me a bit confused. What on earth did Sarah J Maas do to Chaol’s character? She seemed to massacre the relationship between Celaena and Chaol as well, which I really did not understand! I really loved Chaol’s character in the previous three books but in this one, his character seemed to have taken a drastic u-turn and I can’t say I liked it. 

On a more positive note (because i really did enjoy the book) I will end with saying that I freaking love Manon and the witches sections of the book! Is there a possible Manon and Dorian relationship brewing in the future? 

I cannot believe we have to wait till next year to get the fifth instalment. A Court of Thorns and Roses will have to keep me satisfied until then! 

5 out of 5 stars. 

Leave a Reply

