The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part II

As much as I love the book series, I absolutely hated the first film of the franchise but I’ve seen all of the films at their midnight showing until this last film. I’ve grown to love the film series, although not as much as the book series, so I thought I would blog about my thoughts on the final instalment on my favourite young adult series. I’d also like to remind you all that I am not a film blogger, I just thought I’d tell you my opinion on the film!


I’d like to start with saying how wonderfully talented an actor Josh Hutcherson is, he’s by far the best actor in the film. I loved Peeta in the books and after seeing his portrayal of Peeta across the films, Josh was definitely the perfect choice. He has the tormented look perfected and he had me falling in love with Peeta all over again.

I love the romance element to this film, you can really see Katniss falling in love with Peeta as the story progresses but also struggling with how she feels about Gale. The love triangle annoyed me in the books but it worked so well for the actors in the films.

The only problem I have with the film is the ending, but I absolutely hated the ending in the book, so I can’t really grumble. This stems from the fact that not everything in the films is explained well enough to fully understand what is happening, I normally have to explain little details to my other half when we leave and this film was no different. I don’t think what happens between Katniss and president Coin is explained well enough for those who haven’t read the books.

Overall, however, I loved the film. It was the perfect representation of the final book and I think it did the trilogy justice for all of us long term fans. I’m just sad that the film franchise is over! The best thing is, I got to sit on Snow’s throne!

Leave a Reply

