My Top Young Adult Books:

Everyone who reads my blog or knows me personally understands that young adult literature is where my heart lies. Young adult novels are so easy to digest, incredibly gripping and dare I say it, a whole lot more interesting than adult books. However, narrowing it down to 6 books/book series I’d recommend everyone reads was exceptionally hard. I couldn’t solely rely on Goodreads

1. The Hunger Games Trilogy – Suzanne Collins

More specifically, Catching Fire but you have to read The Hunger Games and then you may as well finish reading the trilogy. I read all three of these before they became hugely popular and I loved them without all the hype. I still love them with the hype but for me, Mockingjay will always be a let down. Catching Fire will always be my favourite, the writing and the action are perfection, I read the whole book in a day because I was that sucked into the storyline. I cannot recommend a trilogy more.

2. A Monster Calls – Patrick Ness

I still don’t have the words to describe how beautiful this book is. I wrote a review right after I finished it and I cried as I wrote the review. I’ve never read a book so powerful before, the emotions that Patrick Ness can conjure with his writing is incredible. The book centres around a young boy who is coming to diagnosis, when a monster calls at his room with a story to tell him. Each night (for three nights across a short period of time) the monster tells the boy and then on the fourth and final night the boy must tell the monster a story. A Monster Calls is the most heart-wrenching and wonderful books ever written.

3. The Bone Season – Samantha Shannon

It’s no secret that my love of fantasy comes from Young Adult fantasy, I don’t often read adult fantasy so it will come as no surprise that The Bone Season is included in my list. The Bone Season focuses on the life of Paige, a clairvoyant living in a London where clairvoyants are outcast and it is illegal for them to use their abilities. I don’t know about you guys but I love books that involve mysterious powers, be in dreamwalking like Paige or having superpowers like in the Marvel comics, but I will read anything that involves superpowers. The Bone Season and it’s second instalment Mime Order are one of my current favourite book series, I cannot wait for book three to come out!

4. Uglies – Scott Westerfeld

It’s been so long since I read this book, but it remains one of my favourite book themes. The idea that you’re outcast for just going against the grain in the way that we look is something I think a lot of teens and young adults can relate to, which is why I think it the book so much. Not only is this book about reject societies view of what is beautiful, it’s set in a future dystopian sort of world and what else do you want from a young adult book? This post however, is making me realise how much I need to buy and read the other two books in this series (I know, I’m slow at these things for being a book blogger).

5. Noughts and Crosses – Malorie Blackman

I first read the Nought and Crosses book series when I was in early High School, and I still go back and reread it every couple of years or so. Noughts and Crosses follows the love story of Sephy and Callum, who’s love is forbidden due to them being of different races. It’s a wonderful story, what I particularly love about this book is that it’s the black population that rule over the whites, which I don’t think I’ve ever seen in another book before. This book series gets better and better as the books go on, and writing this is making me want to re-read the entire series. On a side note, it is because of this book series that I know what I will call a baby girl in the future if I have children later in life!

6. Throne of Glass – Sarah J Maas

Who wouldn’t love a book where the main character is a badass female assassin? I love, love, love, love this book series (although I think the second and third books are the best in the series so far). I’ve read all four of the series that are currently out this year, I even spent a large chunk of my holiday to America reading Crown of Midnight on the bus/plane. The Throne of Glass series follow Celaena Sardothien as she fights for her freedom from a slave mine to become the King’s personal assassin. It’s filled with monsters and magic, battles and gruesome deaths, the series is literally perfection in book form. Now, when does book five come out?

I was going to choose my top 10 young adult books but I realised that a lot of my favourite young adult books are all part of the same series, so all of the books I’ve recommended from book series are actually recommending the entire book series.

Do any of you guys have any recommendations of fabulous young adult books that you can’t believe I’ve not included in the list? Send me more book recommendations!

 

 

Leave a Reply

