Reflecting on 2015

As a book blogger by nature, I’m sure you’re all thinking that this reflection blog post is going be centred around all of the books I’ve read in 2015. However, you’d be wrong, that post shall follow somewhere on the other side of New Year. Today, I thought I would share with you a snippet of my private life and everything I’ve done throughout 2015 because it has been one of the craziest but best years of my life.

11960164_10154176428187571_8476505738326491377_n

This time last year I was heading to Edinburgh to welcome in the new year watching the fire works at the castle and I cannot get over how much has changed since that moment. Much has remained the same, my family, my wonderful boyfriend and my lovely friends (although some new ones of those have appeared this year), but almost everything else has changed. I’ve graduated from university with an honours degree in Criminology, I’ve got my first full time, I’ve been to three different states in America, explored York with my boyfriend. I’m back living with my parents, I’m learning to drive and I’m saving to move out of the house.

I cannot choose my favourite moment of the year. I got to walk across the stage and graduate with one of my best friends and I got to do it in front of my parents and my boyfriend. It’s crazy to think that all of those four long years of stress, 10000 word dissertation, tears and laughter are over and that all that hard work was for one little piece of paper that will help me to get jobs in the future.

11539051_889907611089503_2550468375029433993_o

As a graduation treat to myself, I got to spend two weeks exploring California, Arizona and Nevada with my other half. We got to see the Hollywood sign, cycle along Venice beach, gamble in Las Vegas, see Cirque du Soleil, cycle across the Golden Gate Bridge, go line dancing, do karaoke, cycle around Yosemite, take a helicopter over the Grand Canyon and visit Alcatraz. The best and most adventure filled two weeks of my life and a trip that I will not forget in a hurry.

Not only did we get to spend two weeks travelling around America together but this year marked our third year of being together as a couple and I could not be happier. It’s crazy how quickly these years have gone past but I could not ask for a better person to pull stupid faces with in photos. 2016 is only going to be better for us.

IMG_0059

We even managed a trip away to York and a stay in a Wigwam Holiday’s wigwam which was increadible. We got to explore somewhere new in a way we’ve never done before. I’d highly recommend a stay in one of the wigwams, they’re so cute and cosy! That part of the country is completely different to anywhere I’ve been before (although I’ve been to York once before), we got to explore the coast and have a day trip to Scarborough and Whitby.

11914008_10154176174507571_5418572673534431765_n.jpg

I’ve bettered myself this year, I’ve started to look after myself more. I’m fitter and healthier than I’ve been since I left high school and I’ve discovered a love for road riding and exercise in general. I’ve cycled over 500 miles this year which was one of my aims going into 2015 and I shall be setting myself an even bigger goal for 2016.

I got to witness two friends getting married, who are the first of my age to get married. I’ve had lots of laughs with old friends, made new friends and started a full time job. We’ve even had a new addition to the family in the form of a cute and fluffy little Golden Retriever who has everyone wrapped around his little paw.

 

IMG_2657

After all of the awesome and amazing things that 2015 has brought, I cannot wait to see what 2016 will bring. Sure there has been some negative aspects to this year too, but I’m not going to focus on those and neither should you. Life is wonderful, continue to live it the way you want and don’t focus on the little bits of negativity along the way!

See you all in 2016! xx

Leave a Reply

