The Beach Hut – Cassandra Parkin

*I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review*

With the disclaimer above this, in all honesty, I did not enjoy this book but I’m not sure why. It is a well written novel, with both loveable and dislikable characters. There is a plot with a little air of mystery about it which is normally what I like. For some reason, I did not connect with this book.

The Beach Hut centres around the life of Finn and his sister as they illegally move into a beach hut for the summer. In flashbacks you’re told about the lives of Finn and his sister as well as Alicia and her dad and how they’ve all come to end up in the same place at the same time. There is the mystery of what happened to Finn’s parents from the offset, which will keep you intrigued and reading on.

Whilst the writing of the book is excellent and the characters are well developed, I found The Beach Hut to be a bit slow in places and then it felt like it was a chore to read. I didn’t care for the snippets of Finn’s book, nor did I really care about the flashbacks of the two of them that featured the whole way through the book. One thing that really did annoy me about The Beach Hut, is that the mystery of what happens to Finn and his sister’s parents is never resolved, or at least, if it was, I can’t remember what happened. For me, there is no point of creating an air of mystery if it’s not resolved by the end of the book!

As  wrote in my goodreads review, it wasn’t that I didn’t like this book, it’s just not a book for me. I’m sure you’ve all read a few books that aren’t bad, they’re just not what appeals to you at that moments of time. It’s been a while since I’ve found a book that I’ve been indifferent about and I’m not sure that I like it. I’ve been struggling to to pick up another book since I finished it, so I think I’ll have to go back to an old favourite to get me excited about reading in 2016!

Leave a Reply

