January TBR pile

2016 is going to be a great year for reading I’ve decided so what’s a better way to start the year off than with a nice TBR pile for the first month? I’m not sure how much I’ll be reading this month but I’ve set myself the goal of reading 30 books across the year on the Goodreads 2016 Reading Challenge. So here are the four books I am aiming to read this month:

Burial Rites – Hannah Kent

I started this book in late December but it’s never a good reading time for me, so progress has been slow with this one. It’s a book about the last hanging in Iceland and so far it’s been rather good, although I’m struggling to get to grips with the change of perspectives and I’m not sure why!

Is It Really Too Much to Ask? – Jeremy Clarkson

I seem to start new year off with a Jeremy Clarkson book so why change that tradition now? I’ve been reading this on and off for a few months as they’re just little newspaper articles from his weekly column so it’s an easy book to pick up and put down again when you only have a few minutes here and there to read.

Anne of Green Gables – L.M Montgomery

My auntie gave me this book to read when I was little and I’ve never read it, so I thought why not now? I’m trying very hard to get my TBR pile down over all (there will be an unhaul post up soon too) so I’m trying to read one ‘new’ book and then one ‘old’ book. As this has been sitting on my shelf for years untouched, I think it’s about time to finally pick it up!

A Study in Scarlet – Arthur Conan Doyle

This is a book I’ve been reading on my kindle since the start of 2015, so I’m going to go back to the start and finish it this time. I’ve always wanted to read the Sherlock Holmes books but I’ve never gotten round to it. Well why not start now? There is literally no point in putting of doing something that you know you want to do. Who knows what is around the corner that could stop you?

 

What is on your TBR pile for January? Have you read and loved or read and hated any of the books on my months TBR pile?

 

Leave a Reply

