Burial Rites – Hannah Kent

I’m not sure how to review this book in words, it’s left such an emotional impact upon me that I don’t know what words will do the book justice. I only picked this book up after seeing Regan raving about it on one of her videos and I am so so so glad that I did buy it.

   

Burial Rites follows the story of Agnes as her execution is nearing. As she tells the story of her life and eventually the crime she is accused of committing, you are drawn into the story in a way that rarely happens. The plot and the characters are so well developed, the book is impossible to put down and walk away from. And when you do find yourself having to put down the book, you will be thinking about it until you pick it up again. 

I had to stop myself from devouring this book in only a few sittings as I feel like it really needs to be read slowly to appreciate its beautiful and haunting story. I’ve never read anything by Hannah Kent before but I will most certainly be picking up more of her  novels in the future. 

4 out of 5 stars. 

One thought on “Burial Rites – Hannah Kent

  1. Heddy says:

    I remember someone recommending me this book over a year ago, but then I somehow forgot it! Will definitively pick it up and read it now after being reminded again, I remember the head librarian at my internship last year being so full of praise, so really sounds like a must-read!

    Like

Leave a Reply

