My Top 5 Autumn Reads

Oh, I love Autumn. It’s my favourite time of the year, I love being all bundled up in jumpers and coats, having hot chocolate and soup on cold nights and most of all, I love being snuggled up inside on the sofa reading lots and lots of books. Because is there a better way to spend an autumn evening that reading? So, I thought I would share the top 5 books that I want to get through this autumn.

1. Empire of Storms – Sarah J Maas

I love Sarah J Maas, that is definitely no secret, so I really don’t think I need to explain my excitement about the release of the next Throne of Glass book. I’ve not actually got the book yet, they’re always released around my birthday, so I always ask for the book as my birthday present from boyfriend….and a suspiciously book shaped parcel arrived for boyfriend (who doesn’t read) this week!

2.  The Bronze Horseman – Paulina Simons

Okay, so I am currently in the middle of reading this (I say middle, but I’m only 19% of the way through) so including this book might be cheating, but I’ve been looking forward to reading it for a very long time. It’s a historical fiction novel, so I don’t think I need to go into details about why it’s so appealing to me! I’ve barely read any fiction that centres on the soviet involvement during world war two, so when I heard about this book I will admit, it made me even more excited about it. Plus, it’s a huge 800 page book, so it’s way more suited to cozy autumn reading than to summer reading.

3. The One That Got Away – Melissa Pimentel

This is an ARC ebook that I received from Netgalley which doesn’t actually come out until February next year I believe, but it’s a romance novel that sounds right up my street! There is nothing I love more than snuggling up on the sofa with a blanket, a cup of hot chocolate and a good romance novel. I’ve never read a book by Melissa Pimentel before, but the blurb sounds really good. Of course, a more detailed review will be published nearer the time of the book publication.

4. Small Great Things – Jodi Picoult

I cannot wait for this book to be released, do I really need to explain why? My mum and I had tickets to go and meet Jodi Picoult and to get our books signed, which we did in Dundee for the release of her last book, and I honestly can’t wait. I am simply in awe of every book that she writes, and I love that every book she publishes is on an entirely different topic. Small Great Things focuses on race and racism, which you rarely see in books, so I’m very much excited to get my copy!

5. One Wish in Manhatten – Mandy Baggot

Again, this is a book I received from Netgalley, although it’s been out for a wee while. I love Mandy Baggot’s writing; it’s light, it’s fluffy, it’s feel good romance. I’ve read a few of Mandy Baggot’s works before, and I always get excited about her new releases, so I don’t know why I’ve left this book on my to-read pile for so long. Hopefully, with the dark nights setting in, I’ll finally get around to reading it!

 

What books are you excited about reading this Autumn?

 

Leave a Reply

