The Ask and The Answer – Patrick Ness

This was my Audible purchase for August because I’d already bought and listened to the first instalment in the series in July. I was excited to see how the story progressed and to hear more about Viola and Todd, so as soon as I’d downloaded it, the book accompanied me on my car journeys.

ask-and-answer

I think  this is one of few audiobooks where the narrator’s voice doesn’t annoy me. I actually really like the way that it’s done, the character’s voices are noticeably different, but there’s not too much done with the female voices that makes them too feminine. I happily spent hours listening to the narrator without losing the will to live or wanting to chuck the audiobook out of the window!

Because this is the second instalment in the series, I’m not going to go into details about the plot, because I don’t want to give away any spoilers. What I will say is that this book does a lot for the character development of the storyline and not necessarily in  a good way. I found Todd to be annoying and bratty throughout this book, he felt bad about what he was doing and he knew it was wrong, but he didn’t put his foot down and refuse, and that was what annoyed me. All he thought about was Viola and saving Viola, he didn’t actually think about what Viola would have wanted of him, and it wouldn’t have been going along with Mayor Prentice’s every whim. Viola though was better portrayed throughout the book, although I don’t think she was portrayed as strongly as she should have been.

I wasn’t as fond of The Ask and The Answer as I had been of The Knife of Never Letting Go, however the storyline did hold my interest and I flew through the book in a few car journeys. I’ve already downloaded the third and final book of the series, so I will finish the series.

Three out of Five stars.

 

 

Leave a Reply

