Empire of Storms – Sarah J Maas

Hello blogging world!

As you all know, I am a huge Throne of Glass fan, so you can imagine how much I was looking forward to the fifth instalment being released. I will admit, I asked for it for my birthday from my other half, so I didn’t get it straight away and couldn’t dive into the book when everyone else did. However, I think this added even more to my excitement about finally being able to read it.


The Throne of Glass series follows Celeana Sardothien, also known as Adarlan’s Assassin as she fights for her freedom after becoming a slave. Of course, this is the fifth book in the young adult fanatasy series, so I won’t go into details because I don’t want to spoil it for those who haven’t read it. I will instead, encourage everyone to pick up the series because it’s one of the best YA fantasy series I’ve ever read.

I must admit, I was a little disappointed with Empire of Storms, but I think I understand why. It feels like the first book in a series, and in a way, it is. I feel like this book is the first part of the second half of the series, so we were back to world, character and plot building in the same sort of way that all first instalments do. Now, don’t get me wrong, this book is still good and Sarah J Maas’ writing is still as amazing as ever. What I meant to say is that in comparison to other books in the series, it’s not as good. It’s still good, just not as good as say, Heir of Fire was.

Having said that, I remain a loyal fan of the series, and I cannot wait for the next instalment! And again, I would highly recommend anyone and everyone goes and reads some of Sarah J Maas’ excellent writing!

Leave a Reply

