My Top Five Ways to have Me-Time

We all know that life can get a little crazy and stressful at times. And, we all know that a little bit of time on our own, away from everyone else and life, is the greatest way to relax, de-stress and regroup before facing all of life’s challenges. So today, I thought I would share with you all what I like to do as a little distraction from the chaos that is my daily life and to hopefully give you guys a few ideas on how you could use your ‘Me-Time’ in the future too.

1. Run myself a bath – who doesn’t love a good bath? Grab yourself some candles, a nice bath bomb or some lovely bubble bath and have an hour to soak all your troubles away. I personally prefer to either spend my bath time (which has been the hour after the Great British Bake Off for the past nine weeks) reading a book or some blogs (and getting a few ideas for future posts). It’s up to you, grab some wine and listen to some music, watch some YouTube videos or catch up on your favourite TV programme. Just relax!

2. Read – being a book blogger, I don’t really feel like I need to explain this one all too much. I love reading to relax, particularly if  it’s a fantasy book or a romance where I can get lost in another world or another city and just let myself live the adventures and experiences of the characters for a little while.

3. Knit or crochet – there is a reason why people say that craft is one of the best forms of therapy. Spending my me time creating something from nothing makes me feel productive even when I’m relaxing. It’s a win win situation! If you’ve never tried crocheting or knitting before, I’d highly recommend giving it a go. Grab some needles or a hook, look online to see how to knit or crochet and give it a bash, it’s so much fun!

4. Walking – I love taking myself for a walk when I’m on my lonesome. It gives you time to breathe in the fresh air and you can let your mind wander as you get a little bit of exercise. It’s great to just let your head wander, the random topics that crop up are ever amusing and it’s an excellent way to spend your ‘me-time’.

5. Baking or Cooking – whenever I have a day off on my own, I love to spend the day planning and cooking a  really nice meal. I normally spend my ‘me-time’ trying out some new recipes, whether baking or cooking, and putting a lot more effort and love into the dinners than I would on work nights! Again, I think it’s because it’s productive and also because you get to eat your productivity at the end!

How do you guys like to spend your downtime? I know that everyone is different, so I would love to hear what you guys get up to!

 

Leave a Reply

