Monsters of Men – Patrick Ness

Well, where do I begin with reviewing Monsters of Men? I wasn’t overly keen on continuing the series because I didn’t overly enjoy the second book of the trilogy, but I am so glad that I did continue on with it.

Like the previous two books, I listened to this as an audiobook, and I must say that the narrator, Humphrey Bower, is amazing. It was really easy to decipher between the characters, even when flitting quickly between the different voices. He was the perfect choice for narrating the series, and I enjoyed the books even more for listening to his voice.

I don’t want to talk too much about the book in itself, because it’s the third in a series and I hate spoilers, so I am not going to give any spoilers. The series follows Todd as he escapes from his hometown with only his ‘annoying’ dog Manchee with him. Along the way, whist trying to outrun Mayor Prentiss’ army, he encounters Viola, who has just landed on the planet and who’s parents have just died. You see the friendship blossom between Viola and Todd, as they continuously save each other along the way, and try to pave the way to a better world.

The whole entire series is excellent at character building, I became so attached to the characters as I went along, particularly Wilf and Davey. The world is excellently built without being too descriptive, I just found the books to be a little too political for my liking which is why I didn’t enjoy the second book in the series overly. Whilst, Monsters of Men is rather political, it’s overall a gripping and well written book and if you like books that focus on morals and politics, with a little bit of violence then I would recommend reading this series!

The ending of Monsters of Men is one of the best and most gripping plot lines I’ve ever had the pleasure of encountering. I was hooked, to the point where I sat in the car for an extra twenty minutes just to find out what happened. The ending of this novel is by far reason enough to read this series. There were floods of tears, floods of tears!

All I’m going to say to round up this post is “DID HE WAKE UP?”

Leave a Reply

