Healthy Habits

Hello and welcome to another week of healthy habits!

How are we all doing on our health and fitness journey? I’m somewhat back on the bandwagon, although not fully, and I am back to enjoying trying to eat healthily and to get a little more exercise in my daily life. I’ve been back to focusing on trying to get my steps up every day, and be more active in daily life rather than focusing on how many runs/how far I’ve ran in the past month or so, and I’ve been doing quite well. I’m back to having my walks on my breaks at work and boyfriend and I are trying to be more active on our days off again. I’ve also been out on my mountain bike for the first time in forever, when me and boyfriend headed out to Kielder for the day. It was great, and it firmly re-established my love of cycling – both on and off road!

This fortnight, I’m setting myself a few different goals to try and achieve.

  1. Go on the turbo at least three times (or a real bike if wanted) – I’ve really lost my cycling mojo of late and I was really loving it in the summer, so I want to get back to that. And if that means sitting on the turbo, doing some pedalling with an episode of the Gilmore Girls on, then so be it. Winter requires thinking outside of the box.
  2. Eat more fruit – I was loving this during the summer, I’d spend my lunch break strolling around in the sunshine and munching some berries and yoghurt but somewhere along the autumnal way, this has stopped happening and unhealthy snacks have found their way back into my lunch boxes.
  3. Cut down on caffeine – I’m already back to decaff tea bags, but as we all know, I’m a Diet Coke addict, and I really want to get control over this one once and for all. It’s when I’m having a bad day at work, I automatically buy myself a bottle to cheer myself up and it’s not doing me any good! I’ve bought myself a couple bottles of squash to keep in my locker at work, so hopefully that will keep me satisfied if I get bored of water.
  4. Start saving – I want to feel like I’ve earned my fitness upgrades, so I’m going to start putting £1 away every time I do some form of exercise and then I should have the motivation to keep going. I can still get myself a lovely new pair of trainers/biking shoes/new helmet but I’ve earned it with all my exercise and then I’ll be more motivated by using the new equipment. It’s a win win!

What are your health and fitness goals for the next couple of weeks? I think my next post will be outlining my longterm goals again because I’ve not revisited them in a while!

Leave a Reply

