Talking As Fast as I Can – Lauren Graham

I cannot explain to you all just how excited I got when I discovered that not only did Lauren Graham release an autobiography, but that she narrates the audiobook herself. So of course, I HAD to get it as my audible purchase for the month. I feel like I should put a disclosure here stating that I am a HUGE Gilmore Girls fan so I was always destined to love this book from the moment that I found about it.

Lauren Graham takes you through her life, her struggles to find a steady acting role, and gives you the advice that she’s picked up from mingling with celebrities along the way. She tells you of her romance failures, her fashion disasters and she lets you know what it was like picking up the role of Lorelai Gilmore again. Talking as fast as I Can: From Gilmore Girls to Gilmore Girls (and everything in between) is one of the funniest, if not the funniest autobiographies I’ve ever had the pleasure to read.

Throughout the book, Lauren Graham is witty, friendly and very genuine. The book feels like it was written by a friend who is giving you some life advice and telling you a few stories. Her sense of humour is my exact sense of humour, and I found myself laughing aloud on my car journeys whilst listening to this book. I love her sarcasm and how ‘real’ she seems throughout this book, like a normal human rather than a ‘celebrity’.

The one thing that I will say is that I think listening to the audiobook really added to the feel of the book, because you got to hear everything through the voice of the author in the way that she wanted it to be read. I honestly, cannot rave about this book enough, anyone who is a fan of Lauren Graham or the Gilmore Girls should definitely pick it up and I would highly recommend listening to it as an audiobook!

Talking as Fast as I Can was the best way to start off my 2017 reading year!

Leave a Reply

