Books I Need to Read in 2017

I’m sure you all know the struggles of being a bookworm and having a huge TBR pile, you forget about books that you’ve had for years and instead buy new ones to read. Or is that just me? There are so many books that I’ve been meaning to get around to reading on my TBR pile and I feel like 2017 is the year to tackle them. I’ve set myself a goal of reading 30 books this year, and I’m going to name 10 books that I want to read before the year is out to try and tackle my ever growing TBR pile.

Lone Wolf – Jodi Picoult: Nicole, why have you still not read this book? It’s the only Jodi Picoult book that I haven’t read and that is not acceptable! Get on it woman!

The Railway Man – Eric Lomax: I’ve been meaning to read this book for ages as well, after my mum recommended it and watching the film.

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society– Mary Ann Shaffer: Okay, so this would be a reread, but I’ve not read this book since I joined Goodreads which is unacceptable. We all know how much I love World War stories!

The Final Empire – Brandon Sanderson – seriously, why have I not picked this up yet? Well, I have but then I got distracted and put it down again.

The God Delusion – Richard Dawkins – I love non-fiction and I’ve been meaning to pick this book up for a while now. I’ll most likely read this slowly alongside another book or two because I find that non-fiction can be draining sometimes.

The Beach – Alex Garland – This is technically a re-read as well, because this is one of my favourite novels of all time. However, I’ve not read it since I joined Goodreads so I think it’s time to pick it up again

Charlotte’s Web – E.B White – this is a book that I am ashamed to say that I have not ever read. I’ve had a beautiful edition sat on my bookshelves since I was a little girl, but I’ve never read it. I need to rectify this!

Little Women – Louisa M Alcott – This is another book that I’m ashamed to say I’ve never read. Woops!

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone – J K Rowling – again, a book I’ve read but haven’t read for years. Not since a joined Goodreads….why?

S. – JJ Abrams – I bought this book with the intention to read it when I moved out and into a place of my own (because it has a lot of inserts which are easily losable) and yet, I’m almost a year into living with boyfriend and I’ve still not picked this up!

What books are you hoping to cross of your TBR pile this year? Any books that you’re ashamed that you haven’t read?

 

One thought on “Books I Need to Read in 2017

  1. smcwriter says:

    I just recently read Harry Potter for the first time just a couple of years ago. Goodreads reminds me that I read the first one back in 2012, but I didn’t read the rest of the series until my husband kept bugging me to. Little Women and Charlotte’s Web are also fantastic books!

    My TBR pile this year is mainly all of the random ebooks I’ve downloaded for free over the past couple of years and never read them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

