Healthy Habits – March 2017

Oh guys, it’s been such a long time since I’ve written a healthy habits post, and I must admit it’s because I haven’t really been keeping up with my healthy habits myself. However, I’m feeling motivated and I really want to start focussing more on healthy eating and fitness again. So, I thought I would restart these posts (probably monthly) to try and keep myself on track.

I’m not aiming for weight loss, I’m more focussing on creating and maintaining a healthy lifestyle. One that’s manageable and somewhat effortless, by making small changes at a time in the hopes of keeping them up in the long term. I’m somewhat happy with how I look, although I could do with losing a little bit of belly flob and I’m struggling to get my face under control (I always thought that as soon as I was out of my teens, the spots and breakouts would end, boy was I wrong!).

I’m setting myself four little lifestyle adjustments for the month of March, where I’ll be implanting one per week and then keeping it going as I take on the next change for the week ahead and so on and so forth. I like this idea, because it seems much more manageable, but I suppose it’s not what suits everyone. Some people want to dive in and go full steam ahead. That’s not me and I know that the habits won’t stick in the long run if I were to do it that way.

  1. Leave my purse at home/in the car when at work – hopefully this will stop me impulse buying chocolate and fizzy juice whilst at work. Helping me to be a little healthier and also saving me money as well! I’ve got a terrible habit of buying myself unhealthy treats to brighten up my day and I need to stop it.
  2. Go for a walk – I want to be more active generally, so I thought it would be good to re-introduce my lunchtime walks. I get two half hours of breaks at work and I usually spend both of them on my bum, doing nothing but staring at my phone and wasting away some of my precious time.
  3. Drink 1.5 litres of water a day – I always, ALWAYS, have my reusable water bottle with me everywhere I go. But for some reason, I really struggle to drink more than 1 litre of water a day. I know that it’s good for your skin and your brain so I really want to push towards drinking less juice and more water.
  4. Work out twice a week – okay, so I really mean three times a week because I want to start getting back into Yoga as well. I want to do either a run or a cycle and then an at home HIIT workout each week as well as one yoga session. Achievable but something I’ve not being doing too much of recently and I really need to sort it out!

What health and fitness goals have you been setting yourself since the start of the year?

Leave a Reply

