Wild – Cheryl Strayed

I love walking and hiking, so this book has been on my radar for a while and I finally decided to purchase the audiobook from audible. I’ve read so many mixed reviews about the book, so I was unsure about what to expect when I started listening to the book on my commutes to work.

First thing first, can I just say how lovely the narrator of this audiobook’s voice is? She has one of the most soothing, relaxing and easy-to-listen to voices that I’ve ever heard and that alone made listening to the book good. I often find that the narrators voice can distract from the storyline (some of the voices are downright annoying), but her voice suited this book to a tee.

Now on to the actual book. I understand why some people rate this book so poorly, it’s definitely not a classic, but that’s not what the book is about. The book tells the story of Cheryl as she hikes her way along the Pacific Crest Trail and the moments that led her to the trek. Yeah, she slept around and cheated on her husband (which I don’t condone) and yes she did heroin (again, not condoning) but without talking about them, her book wouldn’t the real story. Again, she moans about the task at hand and also about what led her to doing to trail, but realistically who wouldn’t reflect and moan as they hiked through hundreds of miles of American countryside, especially when doing it on there own?

What I liked about this book was that it inspired me. It made me want to spend time outdoors and to go on a walking and camping holiday, which I think is one of the main points of this book. We live in a society where we’ve become so wrapped up in everyday life and often we turn to Drs and medicines to seek help, when the outdoors and some time away from normality can do all the wonders in the world.

I don’t think that the point of this book was to be ground breaking, or to be something that is taught in schools. The point of this book was for Cheryl to share her story of the Pacific Crest Trail and to pass on the knowledge that she learned as she went. And this it does very well. It’s her story to tell, and tell it she did.

Four out of Five stars.

Leave a Reply

