Perfect – Cecelia Ahern

Everyone knows how I much I love Cecelia Ahern and her writing. So every time I get the opportunity to read her books, of course I jump at the chance to pick them up. I loved Flawed, and as soon as I realised the Ahern was writing a sequel, I got exceptionally excited about it.

Flawed follows Celestine North as she lives in a society where going against what is deemed ‘acceptable’ results in being branded Flawed. After standing up for an elderly Flawed man on the bus, Celestine faces being branded Flawed herself and along the way she begins to see just how flawed the society she lives in actually is.

As this is the sequel in the duology, I’m not going to go into details because I don’t want to spoil the book for anyone. What I will say is that this book could not have come at a more appropriate time. With the current political climate in both Britain (with us leaving the EU) and in America (with Donald Trump as President) and all the hate it’s stirring up, this book helps to remind it’s readers about the power that the public and each individual has in the greater good of society.

As always, Cecelia Ahern’s writing is powerful and moving. Her writing is inspiring, and will instil a motivation to be a better version of yourself as you read the novel. Her writing will make you question your own views of the world around you and any prejudices that you may or may not hold. And I will say that she writes a damn good lead male, because I fell a little bit in love with Carrick throughout both of the books.

The Flawed series is one of the best Young Adult that I’ve had the pleasure of reading in a long time, and although the plot is quite political, the books are very easy to read and almost impossible to put down. I would highly recommend both books.

Five out of Five stars.

Leave a Reply

