Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

I was in a bit of a reading slump that had been ongoing for a little while and I wanted something that I knew would get me back on the reading bandwagon, so I picked up Harry Potter. I’ve not read any of the Harry Potter books in years, since before I joined Goodreads back in 2012 so I thought it was about time that I revisited my old favourite!

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone may classed as a children’s novel, but it is still as enjoyable as an adult. I’m not going to go into details about the book because I find it very hard to believe that due to the popularity of the books and the film series that there is a single human being reading this blog post that doesn’t know the basic premise of the books.

What I will say is that when reading the first instalment of Harry Potter again, I noticed a few little bits and bobs that hint at things to come in future books and I also noticed bits of the story that I hadn’t noticed the first few times of reading. I was a child when the Harry Potter books came out and my Dad used to read me the books at bedtime,  so all of the books hold a very special place in my heart. The amount of influence that J.K Rowling’s books had on me is immense, and it’s all most fully down to the Harry Potter series that I am a fully fledged fantasy lover.

If for some bizarre reason you’ve never read Harry Potter, then I urge you to go and pick up this book. If you’ve not read Harry Potter for a long time, then I urge you to go and pick up this book. If you’ve read Harry Potter recently but you love it, then I urge you to go and pick up this book. You can’t go wrong with Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (even if it’s not the best book in the series!).

Leave a Reply

